The Beauty of Spring


“In this life, all is evanescent. Live for the now.”
― Carlyle Labuschagne

DSC_1573 (2).jpg

It’s been a while since I’ve added any photography to this blog, so the other day I went on a walk with my mum around the lakes near our house and took (what I think) are some of my best macro photos yet. These photos were taken with an entry level Nikon D3300 with an 18-55mm lens and these photos were the best ones of the walk. It was difficult to find anything inspiring though because all I could see were green trees, blue sky and yellow flowers (but it was too windy to take stable photos of the flowers).

It’s coming to the end of spring so there also weren’t many different species of flowers around. I thought it was quite an achievement to photograph a dragonfly because they fly so fast from plant to plant and it’s hard to get a still picture, but I did it! And that’s what counts. I’m proud of myself anyway, even though it’s a teensy bit blurry, it was the best I could get under the windy circumstances. My mum said that dragonflies look a bit like aliens, and I can’t argue with that.

DSC_1590 (2).jpg

Butterflies are little rascals. But they’re also models. Do you see my problem? This butterfly would. not. keep. still. but with patience, I finally got the shot I wanted. It kept flying all over the place, and maybe it was a little photo shy but it finally posed for me, so I’m happy.

DSC_1575 (2).jpg

This bokeh behind the snail was purely by chance. I was trying to take a macro picture of the snail and ended up with a much better picture than I thought. I haven’t experimented with bokeh photography all that much but this photo kind of inspired me to look beyond the object of focus because sometimes the background can be more interesting that the foreground. Like this photo, it’s just a snail. I can take hundreds of photos of snails and maybe a few of them will be good. This photo wouldn’t be nearly as good as it is without the bokeh.

If anyone has any ideas about what to take photographs of during an English summer, let me know down in the comments. Because there’s only so many pictures you can take of green trees and blue sky.

3 thoughts on “The Beauty of Spring

  1. Pingback: Evanescant: Retro Rain | What's (in) the picture?

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

