Adventure of a Lifetime


Your wings already exist
all you have to do is fly,
fly little bird
soar into the sky.
Let new adventures begin,
for the world is new
you have nothing to lose, so
wish your nest a fond “adieu!”
Go with all your heart
wherever you choose,
this is only the start
the wind is your muse.

So I’m graduating in a few months. I just finished my final exams at university. Scary, I know, I’m gonna be a real adult. Except, I want to delay being an adult for a while if I can. “Can you do that?” Probably. These next few years are going to be some of the best years of my life, I can tell.

Like most near-university graduates, I still have no idea what I want to do. And that’s ok. It’s also ok if you do know what you want to do for the rest of your life. The trick is just to make it a good life.

We’re being thrown into the deep end. For the first time, we are free of education, and we’ve been told what to do all our lives up until now. This is the time we must start to figure ourselves out. It will be difficult. Chances are we’ll change our minds about what we want to do a million times. That’s normal, ok? Don’t worry (I tell myself as I worry). Think about this quote by Dr Seuss, I think it’s pretty applicable:

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose.

Yep, any direction YOU choose. You can go wherever you want, with you who want, when you want. At this point in life, I’m guessing most of you aren’t tied down to anything. No one can tell you what to do, only you can choose that. And right now happens to be the best time to make that decision.

Your journey starts now, so go confidently in the direction of your dreams, and live the life you have imagined.

If you liked this post, you might also like these poems:

  1. Journey Back to Yourself
  2. Journey
3 thoughts on “Adventure of a Lifetime

  1. Pingback: IntroToPoetry: Round-Up – Little April Shower

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

