Hollow Heart


A broken heart
the one I wore
on my sleeve
I have suffered,
split my soul
into a million pieces
for you,
we ruined each other,
I was the ocean
serene and brutal
and you were
a wildfire
relentless and
I; defenceless
against you.
When you left
the sea was
my only comfort
I whispered words
of sorrow
into the salty air,
I found a hollowed shell
and all I could think
about was the hole
in my heart
weathered by the
ebb and flow of
memories of you,
I scattered the ashes
of my once vibrant heart
into the sea
and rolled up my sleeves,
it seems
I drown in love
too easily.

Photo Credit: I’m Priscilla (via Unsplash)

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

