Autumn Sun


Dear Autumn,

It’s not very often you get to see the sun rise unless you’re a morning person and wake up when it’s still dark. I’m not a morning person but I had to wake up early. The colours in the sky make this morning that much better and endurable and make it so worth it for me. I do love experiencing the sun rise. It has a light and airy feel to it as the bright sun pierces through the pale pink and blue clouds as if to say “rise and shine, mortals, and embrace the day”. How nice of it. It’s making me realise that I should get up this early more often and go out to take some photos. Red sky in the morning, though, as they say, is shepherd’s warning. It’s deceptive. I wonder why that phrase was invented because I look up to the sky and all I can see is an ethereal beauty. Nothing to be warned about. It’s very bright and I can’t look directly at it but oh, it’s magnificent.

We’re too busy with our day to day lives that we never really take the time to look up – only ever what is in front or next to us. It’s a shame really because if everyone were to look up at the sky, all their problems and worries would be put in perspective. I do like living in a town where all the buildings are small and the greenery en masse. But I have to stop and wonder what it would be like if I lived in the city where life is constantly buzzing and never ending and all the buildings were skyscrapers. Would I feel boxed in and claustrophobic when I’m so used to trees, fields and wildlife? I can imagine so. Being unable to see the vastness of the big blue above could turn out to be miserable. Life would be crazy.

I love the sun. With every rise and fall brings the promise of a new day – a good day. It’s what keeps us all going. And along with it, the fact that more or less everything is absolutely fine, as Derren Brown so wisely said. That’s exactly what I needed to hear, Autumn. Today will be a good day if I want it to be and I desperately do. If you keep saying it to yourself the eventually it will become true for you,and you’ll never have to worry about every little thing again. Can’t let the sun down now, can I? It is too early in Autumn to see the trees in their golden brown magnificence, it’s more like a cold summer. The leaves will change colour gradually, so I probably won’t notice when they do. One day, the trees will be green and the next, orange and yellow. You blink and everything is different.

The weather changed so suddenly and fiercely from summer to Autumn that I had no time to prepare. It’s the time of year that every day begins cold and by midday, if you’re wearing warm clothes, you might get heat stroke. Well, that’s an exaggeration but you catch my drift. And it’s probably only true of England, but that’s how I like it. Autumn, you are definitely the season my soul connects with the most.

Photo Credit: Colin McMurry

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

