How Will I Balance Work And Play?


For me, at the moment, it’s not possible to live locally independent as I am still a university student. However, I do graduate next year and I am beyond excited. I don’t know what I’m going to do after but I am 100% ready for what gets thrown at me. For as long as I can remember I have loved travelling, just like my dad. My family and I used to live in Spain, I’ve always loved it there and always wanted to go back. But so far I’ve never lived or travelled outside of Europe and I have a burning desire to see more of the world.

I have been back to Spain since, as an attempt to be an Au Pair (didn’t go so well), and I wish I could have stayed longer but things don’t always work out how you plan anyway. I don’t ever want to stay in the same place for too long but I do want to stay in a place long enough so I can get to know new people and culture and lifestyle. I’m definitely going to take the opportunity to move away to a different country after university, possibly with a friend.

If you’ve read my bucket list you will know that I really want to travel and work because it will be an awesome adventure. I know my parents won’t like that I want to move away for a long period of time in a foreign country, and they’ll be scared just like me, but if it’s what I want to do then I will do it because I have to live life for me and no-one else. It’s safe to say that I have caught the travel bug and I am just itching to explore places I’ve always dreamed about.

But at first, I think I will have to travel close to home so it will be easier to travel back home if it gets too hard or something goes wrong. My parents want me to experience more of the world before I jump on the plane to Australia or China, Japan or America, and I understand that, but there’s only so much life experience you can gain in one place. For me, the future is a blank slate at the moment which is quite exciting and terrifying. I feel like if I don’t figure out what I want to do soon then I will feel lost.

I’ve also said before that I do not want a 9-5 job because it’s not like me and I will not feel happy; all I would feel is resentment and I don’t want that. So I need to find something that I love doing as work. I want to be free and I don’t want to be tied down to any specific place. My dream life would be to work and travel at the same time, but not working the same job everywhere. I want to teach English as a foreign language in China and Cambodia, to volunteer with elephants in Thailand, work in a coffee shop or bar in Australia… really just to experience everything and anything before I settle down. And maybe I won’t settle down, who knows? Maybe I’ll like it where I stay on my travels and stay there. The world is my oyster, as they say.

To balance work and play, I will work during the week doing whatever job I’m doing at the time and then I’ll explore on the weekends. Simple. And then after I earn enough money in one place I will move on to the next and work there for a bit. Travelling will definitely help with content for my writing, I know that, and it will definitely be very rewarding. I’ll explore little coffee shops and write in there whilst drinking the local coffee, I’ll discover back street bars, beaches, castles, little gardens and I will love every moment of it and it will never get boring for one second.

Photo Credit: Patrick Tomasso

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 9

blog-challenge-badge-12

One thought on “How Will I Balance Work And Play?

  1. Make a point to fulfil the bucket list. Fill it up as it empties! We have done that, its entirely possible. Back in the day the options for non 9-5 did not quite exist but now its your world to explore. Go for it!

    Like

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

