Who Are The People I Admire?


Sue Zhao

Age 19, author of Nothing But Strawberries and creator of Excerpts of a Book I’ll Never Write. This is her Website, go check her out because you won’t regret it. Her words are just so nice and lovely to read, and I could stay on her blog for hours on end just reading the quotes that she has written so beautifully, about love and heartbreak and so much more, and her words just resonate so deeply with me. Sue’s blog “blossomfully” was one of the first blogs I started reading when I was in love with someone who didn’t love me back and I felt like Sue knew exactly what I was feeling and thinking and it was magical knowing that there was someone out there around my same age who understood me in that way. Granted, she writes to everyone in every stage of a relationship, from crushes to falling in love, unrequited love and lost loves, and even single people, but I just feel like I am deeply connected to her words. I am addicted to her blog and it’s admirable that someone so young has written a book and I wish her all the success in the world because she deserves it. She writes from her heart and it is so evident, she doesn’t put an act on and that’s what I love about her and it inspires me to write. I feel like she and I would be good friends. If I was to ask Sue a question if I met her in real life, I would ask “how do you write from the heart?”

Zienab Hamdan

Zienab Hamdan

Age 20, fashion student, journalist and poetess and author of For The Other Halves Of Me (a collection of  her original poems). So basically she’s a woman of MANY talents. This is her blog on Tumblr, it’s awesome and you should definitely go and read her poems because they are so beautiful and so full of raw emotion, and occasionally bring tears to my eyes (which is a good thing! because I know how hard it is to induce those kinds of feelings). Similar to Sue Zhao, Zienab’s poems are about heartbreak, healing, love, heartache, dating, memories of true love and soulmates and when I read them I just wish that I could have a love as amazing as the ones she writes about, I just really connect with them. I started reading Zienab’s blog around the same time as Sue’s because it was a time where I could have sworn it was love but I was only in love with the idea of him, and I needed to get over that. The poems that she wrote were there to kind of help me through my heartache and I can’t thank her enough. And along with being a poetry genius, she is also a journalist and I think at age 20 that is an incredible thing, she must have put so much hard work into landing that job and I admire her for that. I’d say she’s an incredibly versatile writer and that’s what I aspire to be like. If I was to ask Zienab a question or two in real life, they would be “how do you find the time to write poems, be a journalist and study fashion at the same time?” and “do you write from experience?”

Featured Photo Credit: Seth Doyle

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 6

blog-challenge-badge-12

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

