How Will I Beat Procrastination?


I’m reading a book called Becoming A Writer by Dorothea Brande (read it, it’s very good), and she says some things that will help me on my way to becoming a better writer than I am. The only way I can actually become a better writer is to write more. Simple. Seems easy, but it’s actually quite hard. I’ve tried, and sometimes it’s because I’ve lost motivation or the will to actually put pen to paper. A good way to write more, though, is to write during the twilight state – that’s between your sleepy state and your awake state because that’s when your unconscious can slip through into your writing and you have no boundaries. What she’s basically saying is to free write as much as you can as soon as you wake up before you’ve even thought about anything or even before your morning coffee, and to not edit anything whilst you are writing (you can do that after). This time, jst after you have woken up is for writing only, and what I need to do is keep a journal beside my bed so as soon as my alarm goes off in the morning, I am writing almost immediately.

I’ve tried this a couple of times although not consistently I must add, and I tend to write about 6 sides of A5 lined paper, which is a lot for me, about 1000 words ish. It’s similar to if I was writing a psychology essay in an exam, so it’s pretty good, but I know I can write more if I tried. If I wrote like that every day for 30 days and pushed myself a little bit every day by a sentence or even a paragraph, then writing will eventually come easily to me and I will be able to write whenever I want because my brain will be trained to write consistently. When I am able to write consistently then I will know that I am on the path to success and freedom because I won’t have to think so hard about what to write before I get down to it – it will just come naturally. That’s what I want, to be a natural writer. After the 30 days it will become and innate habit and it will just happen, and I will feel great because it will be like I’ve accomplished something.

Photo Credit: Lena Bell

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 7

blog-challenge-badge-12

One thought on “How Will I Beat Procrastination?

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

