What Are My Superpowers?


I think that everyone is a superhero in their own right. Everyone has different abilities, skills and strengths and they are all valid. You can’t say that someone is less of a superhero to you because they may not be able to do what you can do and vice versa. Everything we’re good at and everything we enjoy doing is part of us and they are our superpowers. It doesn’t matter if you’re not an expert in something you enjoy doing, because if you enjoy doing it, you’re one step ahead of the person who does not enjoy doing it. If it makes you happy, it’s your superpower. So don’t discount it if you aren’t very good at it yet – everyone started off as an amateur, it just takes time. If you love doing what you do, already it is one of your superpowers so be excited about them, be ready to show and tell everyone what you’ve got because I can guarantee that they will be amazed at what you can do.

Think of the fantastic four – they all have different superpowers and all of them are legit. They each have their own powers and all of them are important and unique and special. Mister Fantastic who can stretch all his limbs can’t become invisible like Invisible Woman; Thing who transforms into a strong rock creature can’t control fire like Human Torch can but the thing is that they all work together to save the day in the end. They don’t envy each other’s powers because all of them are able to do good with their own. They accept their own powers and they use them to help people. I’m not saying you should be able to save the day with your own superpowers because that’s not always possible. I’m saying that the things you don’t think are your powers probably are your powers. Everything is important.

We can all develop our powers one way or another, by learning and practising; we can all become better at what we can do if we want to. But it’s not always necessary. Being mediocre at something is still a power no matter what because it’s 100% better than not being able to do it at all. And you need to rejoice that, you need to celebrate what you’re good at. Do what you love doing more often if it makes you happy because that time will not be wasted. And it can be hard to identify your own superpowers; you start doubting if you’re good at anything at all but I’m here to tell you that you are good at something even if you don’t know it yet. If you keep thinking about what you are good at and what you can do then you will be able to live a more positive lifestyle. I’m going to give it a try for myself.

These are the things that I think I’m good at:

I’m creative. I love writing for many different reasons, blogging, drawing, photography. I didn’t know that my sister read my blog but my dad told me that she told him that I should write a book. And that just made my day. It’s nice that someone was talking about me in a nice way behind my back. It’s humbling that someone I know actually likes what I write and it motivates me to write more, and it’s lovely reading all the comments I get on my blog because they make my day and I couldn’t be happier. When I take photos and upload them online I am overwhelmed by the positive comments and likes that I get. It just makes what I do even better and I can’t thank anyone enough. The good thing about creators, artists and dreamers is that we don’t all think the same way; we think outside the box and that makes us unique.

I’m focused and determined. I don’t know what the future will hold but I’m going into my third year at uni soon, studying psychology. I’m simultaneously scared and excited. But I am determined to get the best result that I can possibly get and I will work hard for it. I don’t want to burn out but I’ll do whatever it takes to make my near future incredible. I know that if I work my hardest then there is nothing else that I could have possibly done; I will get the result that I deserve and I will fight for what I want. Simple. There’s no stopping me. When I’m in study mode, I will not let anyone or anything distract me.

These are the things that I enjoy doing:

I love dancing. If you’ve followed my blog for ages you’ll know how much I love dancing. But if you’re new, I go to Jive and Salsa classes every week for 3 hours each. I have been doing Jive for around 3 months and Salsa for a few weeks but I seriously can’t get enough of them. I would dance every night of the week if it was up to me. It makes me happy. I love being twirled around the dance floor, listening to the loud music and being very dizzy by the end of the night. I love dancing because when I dance I can’t stop smiling as I have so much fun. I never want the night to end because I’ll have to wait a week before the next class. I’m told I am getting good as a dancer (Jive) and hopefully someday in the future, I will be able to teach it.

I love learning. I try to learn something new every day. (Try not learning something new every day, it’s harder than you think.) I’m always challenging myself. I want to learn more about photography, psychology, writing, dancing… because if I don’t learn more then my life will be static and who wants that? I just love gaining knowledge. I love being curious about things, asking questions and searching for new ideas because it keeps me passionate. The more you know, the more you can talk about and the more you can teach other people; it’s fun and totally not a chore. Keeping an open mind about everything and anything will keep you interesting – you have a brain so use it. That’s what I think anyway. It will benefit us in so many ways.

Down in the comments I want you to tell me what your superpowers are. What are you good at? What do you enjoy doing? I want to know all about them. You don’t need to go into full detail, you can just list them if you want. 🙂

Photo Credit: Felix Russell-Saw

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 4

blog-challenge-badge-12

One thought on “What Are My Superpowers?

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

