My Morning Routine


First off, that’s not my cat and secondly, I hate mornings. But recently I’ve been trying to wake up earlier so I don’t waste the day. 5 months off from uni gets to you, ya know? I’ve become lazy and bored and with nothing productive to do I just sleep because that’s pretty much all I can do. I want summer to be over now and I want to go back to uni so I at least have some structure in my life. However, let me talk about the little bit of structure I already have during my mornings at home (which is always).

So when I wake up after hearing my alarm at around 9am, I get up (because I want to turn off that dreadful sound it makes, and it’s on the other side of the room). I turn my lights on and put my hair in a bun because you know, bad hair day obviously. Happens every day. We’re all Anna from Frozen, don’t try to pretend you’re Cinderella with your perfectly pristine hair in the morning because that’s a lie and we all know it. Anyway, this is what I look like in the morning:

anna.jpg

It’s not pretty. Which is why my hair goes in a messy bun so I don’t scare the living daylights out of my family and I can never be bothered to brush my hair as soon as I get up. I walk into the kitchen which is like 5 steps away from my room #bungalow looking like a zombie and I put the kettle on for my morning coffee. Whilst all that’s going on I make my breakfast, 2 Weetabix as always and milk. When the kettle has boiled, coffee goes in my favourite Slytherin mug and then milk and then water. I add more milk if it’s too strong. Then, and only then will I start to feel human again. That first sip of coffee is like the kiss of life. It’s essential.

Whilst eating breakfast and drinking coffee at my desk, I open my laptop to check emails. None of them are interesting so I delete them all. Yay for clear inboxes, I’m all for that. It keeps my brain and my email organised and easy to manage. Then I check my blog for notifications, answer or reply to the odd comment. Then, I check all my social medias. Facebook first, then twitter. Once all those notifications are read, responded to and cleared, I feel sane. I hate clutter. Everything is up to date and I feel relaxed and ready for the day ahead. Next, I tidy my desk because it allows me to concentrate better, and I unplug my phone and tablet from the socket since they’ve both been charging overnight.

After I finish all that nonsense, I brush my teeth for two minutes, wash my face and brush my hair so I feel clean and fresh. The I get dressed and sit back at my desk ready to write. I keep my email pen because I have an obsession with deleting every new email that comes in straight away so I have a clear inbox. Usually, I do inspiration research for what I’m going to write next, but really it’s just procrastination, or I write without thinking about anything else. So there you have it, that’s my morning routine if you were interested in the first place and have stuck with me till the end of this post.

xxx

5 thoughts on “My Morning Routine

  1. Pingback: Creating The Mental Space To Write – Little April Shower

  2. Wow. I am all inspired now.
    If I were off Uni, you’ll see me wake up and spend the next 2 hours on social media and YouTube and then get up by which time it’ll be lunch. Then I waste the whole day and feel like crap by night-time. :/

    Like

  3. I know what you mean about having no structure in life, I’ve been off school for about 5 months as well and I’m waiting to start university to study psychology. It’s seriously exhausting not having much to do day in, day out!!

    Like

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

