Take Two


My mission: Run outside. Take a picture of the first thing you see. Run inside. Take a picture of the second thing you see. Write about the connection between these two random objects, people, or scenes.

DSC_0797.JPG

Ok so I love flowers, and I love macro photography. Therefore, I take lots and lots of macro photos of flowers. You should see my photography folder on my laptop. There are so many, it would take you hours to look through all of them. Now, there’s a sort of flower patch in the back corner of my mum’s garden in which these flowers (image one) grow, and incidentally, that’s where I took this picture as well. My mum isn’t much of a gardener, and this corner isn’t tended to very well, but these flowers grow in that corner every year without question, similar to the daffodils which also grow in our garden every year, which I have taken many photos of. I’d say I’m perfecting the skill of macro photography because all it requires is a zoom lens and great composition. There’s a bit more to it than that, but that’s the basics of it. What I love about the image of the flowers is not that they are pink (although I love the colour pink), but that the flowers aren’t in pristine condition. They are dirty, they have mud and soil on them, and I think that makes them more earthy.

DSC_0801

This second image links to the first in that it is a photo of flowers in a field. If you’ve been reading my posts for a while, you may know that I love wildflowers of any kind. I just love sitting down in fields, and staying perfectly still and calm, especially on a bright and sunny day. It’s perfect. And I get lost in my thoughts and I become part of nature. It’s such a nice feeling, and I would sit in flower fields all the time if I could. My favourite flowers are bluebells. My mum is also a photographer and has had her photos on BBC South Today and in The Daily Echo because she goes out every week on walks with her fiancé and never leaves her camera at home. Don’t get me wrong, this fridge magnet isn’t a photo she or I have taken, but she just loves fridge magnets, and she collects them from wherever she goes. Like Berlin, or Brugge. Seriously, I went to Amsterdam earlier this year and I got her a fridge magnet from there. We always know what to get my mum if we’re stuck for a present. Fridge magnets. It never fails.

You might also like:

xxx

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

