Indak


indak

If any of you have been one of my readers long enough, you’ll know how much I LOVE dancing. Literally, I can’t get enough of it. I started dancing Jive 4 weeks ago, and I’m going to beginners classes and freestyles. For any of you who don’t know what a freestyle is, it’s where you just dance non-stop for about 4 hours and there aren’t any taught lessons. In the beginners classes, you rotate partners every time you learn a new move. You only learn three moves in one class, but there are 8 beginners classes so it works well, and they aren’t that hard to understand. What I’ve learned, though, is that some men are really hard to follow, as in they lead the dance move wrong or they’re too flimsy. It’s easy for the woman because all you have to do is know how to follow a man’s lead and you can twirl the night away. After the beginners class, there is a freestyle session for about 45 minutes, which is good to stay for because you learn new moves, and meet more people and get to know their dance style. Even though it is one type of dance, every single man has a different style. I’m not even kidding. And it’s nice because it isn’t boring. You can ask men to dance and they will always ask you too.

After the night is done, I’m usually left all buzzed because rather than dancing draining the energy out of me, it somehow gives me more energy. Weird. But I love it. It’s probably the one thing every week that I look forward to and enjoy the most. I’d say I’m a pretty good dancer. My dad started dancing Jive about 9 years ago, and ever since he started learning, he’s been practising moves, and obviously he needed someone to practice with so I was the guinea pig. Even though I had never had proper Jive lessons before, I still got up to dance every time we went to a party where there was going to be dancers; I was never reluctant. And I think that’s where some of my good following skills come from. Because most of the men I have danced with said, and I quote, I was “outstanding” and they wouldn’t believe me if I told them I had only been learning to Jive for 4 weeks. I think a lot of men like dancing with me, and that’s not because I’m big headed.

If it was up to me, I’d be dancing every night of the week. And I would definitely not get bored of it. I love learning new moves, and I love being twirled around on the dance floor. But it isn’t up to me, and I can only go on Tuesdays which is a shame. So I look forward to it every week. I’ve always been one to dance in my bedroom when no-one is watching, just listening to music really loud when no-one is home and busting out a move, or two, or three. It’s my favourite thing to do. I’m sure practically everyone has had a solo dance party in their rooms. Am I right? Whenever I come home after dancing for three hours in the class, I want to dance EVEN MORE. When I get home, I can still hear the music buzzing in my ears and it makes me want to get up and start moving. It’s not irritating in the least. I even start trying to sway my hips when I’m lying in bed thinking about dancing. It’s insane, I know. If I was a sleep-walker, you’d probably have to call me a sleep-dancer instead. But I’m not.

dance

If you’re not a dancer, which I wasn’t before Jive, it is REALLY hard to dance to the beat of the music. Like, really hard. Even as a dancer now, I find it hard. But I’m still learning so I’ve got an excuse. Although when I dance with a man, and he doesn’t dance to the beat, it’s even harder. I have to refrain from stopping and starting every 10 seconds just so the guy can think for a second and actually listen to the music, although I have fun, and I’m dancing so I don’t care about not dancing to the beat. Dancing is love; dancing is life. You couldn’t keep me off the dance floor even if you tried. Dancing is in my blood and my soul. Seriously, my dad’s a Jiver and my mum teaches Zumba. I took after my dad obviously. It doesn’t matter if I’m off the beat, or if I look silly when I dance. It’s my dance and me and the person I dance with are the only two people that matter. It is my moment. And dance I shall. Try and stop me.

Dancing is contagious. If you go to a dance class or a freestyle, you have to say yes to being asked to dance. I get agitated when I don’t dance and I’m waiting by the wall for someone to ask me to dance. I can’t sit still if everyone else around me is dancing. I feel free when I’m dancing, like a butterfly or a princess. It’s just magical. It’s also very addicting. I’d hate to stay away from the dancefloor for more than a week. Nothing bad happens when you dance, so just dance. It makes me happy. And I’m not going to stop doing something that makes me happy.

So I’ll leave you with these amazingly true quotes:

“We should consider every day lost on which we have not danced at least once.”
Friedrich Nietzsche

“You look ridiculous if you dance
You look ridiculous if you don’t dance
So you might as well
dance.”
Gertrude Stein, Three Lives

“Dance, my darling dance! If you dance then death can’t catch you! Nothing bad can touch you! Dance!”
Jackie French, Lady Dance

In response to Word-High July: 30 Beautiful Filipino Words Day 10 – Indak

Here are all the posts in which I have mentioned dancing from most recent to least recent. Go wild:

For you Chesca!

xxx

10 thoughts on “Indak

  1. Aliyah

    Its great to know how much you like dancing too, like I do! Maybe not jive dancing, for I’ve never tried it before, I do agree that dance is a lovely creation of the world! Beautiful post! Made me remember my dancing love too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: What Are My Superpowers? – Little April Shower

  3. Pingback: Word-High July: Round-Up – Little April Shower

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

