Coffee Shop Regular


coffee share

At last! It’s the weekend, I’m so happy, and so unbelievably tired. This is kind of a reflection on last week and this week, and a bit of a rant, whilst drinking a cup of coffee. I dunno, coffee just gets me. I haven’t had a Costa coffee in over a week and I’m feeling empty. I may treat myself to one tomorrow morning before work. How is everyone?

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you that my family and I went on holiday last weekend to this really hilly coast-side place. It was lovely, but we literally walked 18 miles over the three days. I was exhausted. I basically died and came back to life. And then you’d probably call me a wimp. But then I’d say, “You try walking 18 miles up and down hills!” and laugh, and then you’d say “Ok, ok, I’d probably faint.” And then you’d apologise, and I’d roll my eyes.

If we were having coffee right now… I’d tell you how much I LOVE dancing, and how I can’t get enough of it. If it were my choice, I’d dance every night, probably. Dancing is a drug, and I am definitely addicted. It doesn’t feel like exercise because it’s fun, but OH MY GOODNESS I ache so much the next day. My legs can’t function. I’d keep telling you to come, and you’d say “maybe” even though I know you won’t come along. I’d try to convince you saying that there are plenty of young guys. And you’d say “Yeah, anyone you have your eye on?” and I’d hesitate and smile, which usually means yes, “maaaaybe”. You’d beg me to tell you about him, and I’d say there isn’t much to tell, yet. And then you’d say “Oh come ON, I’m your best friend!”, “He’s really cute, and.. he’s also the teacher, and a tiny bit older”, “NO WAY”, “Yes way”. “Well, I think boys are overrated, you need to date a real man, like for real”. “He does have a really nice smile.” We’d laugh and then I’d ask you how I get him to notice me and then we’d immediately go shopping to find me the perfect outfit for the next class. Well, after coffee of course. Coffee comes first.

If we were having coffee right now… I’d ask you if you’ve ever had bad communication with managers in your previous jobs. And you’d say “No, why?” And then I’d tell you about how my managers literally never answer the phone and wait a few days before they reply to emails. It’s infuriating. Why can’t there be a person in the office the whole time to answer calls or respond to emails?? You’d tell me to calm down, and take a sip of coffee. And then you’d tell me that jobs can be stressful. “I know”, I’d reply and sigh. You’d tell me that all staff are busy, even the managers, they don’t just sit around doing nothing all day, they have to run the place. “It’s annoying, though, ugh”. “Yeah well, welcome to the real world.” At least we have the facebook page to communicate with the managers, but sometimes I want the conversation to be private and not seen by every other staff member. But I do really like the people I work with, none of them are nasty. It’s not about the money anyway, it’s just something to fill the summer with. I don’t want to be sitting at home all summer.

If we were having coffee right now… I’d tell you how rare it is to like every song on an album, but I love Marina and the Diamonds’ new album and I want to go see her next tour. I actually came across the album FROOT when I was looking for inspiration for my recent poem with the prompt “the colour blue”, as she has a song called Blue which I searched on Spotify. I’ve been listening to the album on repeat all week, and I’m not getting bored, Marina is my spirit animal. I’d ask you who your favourite singers or bands are, and you’d say “Well Marina is ok, but I wouldn’t listen to her voluntarily. I’d say that Arctic Monkeys are my favourite”. I literally love Arctic Monkeys, we need to go and see them on tour or something.

If we were having coffee right now… I’d tell you about how I realised something recently. “Yeah, what’s that?” “To say yes to almost everything”, “That’s a statement and a half!” But I’d explain that my sister asked me if I wanted to go to a music festival in Cornwall  this summer, and at first, I said no, but then I changed my mind after about five minutes of thinking about it. I realised that I would miss out if I didn’t go and I would have so much fun if I did go. And you’d say, “I’d LOVE to come with you. I went last year and it was the best weekend of my life. We have to go. I know loads of people who might go.” I’ve never been to a music festival before, I’ve been to plenty of concerts but never a festival. It would be nice to spend time together after such a stressful year of university. See you soon, my friend.

xxx

7 thoughts on “Coffee Shop Regular

  1. I haven’t been to Starbucks in a very long time because it is approximately two cities from me, but I have been frequenting a local coffee shop. The ambience, the coffee, and the experience lack so much. Coffee and I are friends. 🙂

    Like

      1. Yes, I think I agree. When I am in Starbucks, people are focused on what they came to do. The local coffee shop is more for socialization. I am often looked at weird because I am there to work and not be bothered.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Word-High July: Indak (10th) – Little April Shower

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

