List of Books To Read


Ok so since you lovely readers didn’t get a Bookworm Wednesday last Wednesday, so this is to make up for it. I’ll give you one today and one tomorrow (even though it’s Thursday but shush). So here’s a list of all the books and authors which I intend to read at some point in the future. They’re on my To-Read list on Goodreads.

books and tea.jpg

  1. Where She Went by Gayle Forman – I’ve already read the first of the two, If I Stay (and seen the movie, it was mehh).
  2. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – I have it on my bookshelf, and it’s the next book I’m going to read.
  3. Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke– I have this book at home, and I’ve seen some of the tv series, I’m a sucker for a book with magic.
  4. Romancero Gitano by Federico García Lorca – really beautiful book Spanish poems, defo worth the read!
  5. Killers of the Dawn, The Lake of Souls, Lord of the Shadows, Sons of Destiny by Darren Shan – I’ve read the first 8 books so I need to read the rest.
  6. Paper Towns (I’ve seen the movie, it’s basically like Looking for Alaska), An Abundance of Katherines, Will Grayson Will Grayson by John Green – Just because I love John Green as a person and author, ’nuff said.
  7. Billy and Me, Christmas with Billy and Me, Dream a Little Dream, Dream a Little Christmas Dream, You’re the One That I Want by Giovanna Fletcher – She’s married to a singer (Tom) from my favourite band Mcfly, and they have two little boys. Ok, I follow their life on social media, so what? I need to read her books.
  8. All I Know Now, On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher – Tom’s sister…, I also watch her Youtube channel.
  9. Unforgiven by Lauren Kate – I’ve read the first 4 books (Fallen, Torment, Passion, Rapture) and I adore the series.
  10. Room by Emma Donoghue – I’ve heard this book is good, but a little strange, so I’m intrigued.

xxx

14 thoughts on “List of Books To Read

  1. I read “Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell.” It was interesting but be prepared; most of the book wanders around in search of a plot. The very end (last 20k words) is very good but you have to slog through a lot of material (200k words approx) to reach it. And the author does a more telling than showing. Cool stuff like the parts where the “wizards” are at war or working for the military are related not shown and that’s a huge miss. There’s also a ton of characters and only a few of them are important. The rest are not essential but their doings are related in excruciating detail. The first third is very boring and doesn’t seem to be building to anything and it’s not because the book doesn’t start building towards anything until the last quarter. The first three-quarters wander around historical events and “biographic” events, none of which are at all significant. I would not read a sequel to this book and thankfully the ending didn’t leave room for it. It’s not a grown-up take on Harry Potter. Though it could have been that if it had been done differently.

    Like

    1. Yeah I’ve got the book at home, and it is huge!! I like the feeling when you’ve accomplished reading a big book haha. I saw a few episodes on TV and there was some magic, but not as much as I’d hoped for, if you know what I mean. It was all pretty much talk about magic, and not very much about learning it or doing it. Kind of disappointing. And from what you’re telling me I think it might be like that in the book. But I will hang on to the end! It’s more about the history of magic, kind of, and talk about how it shouldn’t be used and all about how a couple of magicians want to start using it and then they dabble in dark magic.

      Like

      1. I will let you know! I take ages to read, and I’m going to start reading The Hitchhikers Guide to The Galaxy trilogy(?) soon, and it’s a massive book! I couldn’t even get through the first book of Game of Thrones :’)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s actually 6 books the hitchhiker’s Guide series. I have read the first 5. Book 6 came out after Douglas Adams’ death. I haven’t had a chance to read it yet. The series goes by fast; the individual books aren’t very long but they are very funny.

        Like

      3. Oh my gosh. I have a book and it has all of the first 4 books in the series: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, The Restaurant at the End of The Universe, Life, The Universe and Everything and So Long, and Thanks For All The Fish 🙂 I’m so excited to read them.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. They are great books 🙂 and so funny! I couldn’t get into Game of Thrones either. I love reading fantasy and writing it but I just couldn’t get into that series or even finish book one. And GRRM is said to be a great writer.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Yeah he is said to be a great writer!! Apparently the books are a hell of a lot different to the TV series though, which is a shame :L He basically said to the producers that they can do whatever they want as long as they follow the story briefly, and at the end, have all of the characters that are meant to be there in the book ending. Some characters in the TV series have died when they aren’t supposed to be dead yet etc…

        Like

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

