Timpi


timpi

Self-control is one of my strong suits. I’m quite a calm person. I never react with violence or hurtful words. Instead, I put my thoughts down on paper (screen). I have always been one to keep quiet about most things. I never ever say what I’m really feeling unless I write about it. Self-control is a choice, and I’ve had plenty of practice. I understand that when people lash out, they have been stressed about something and it’s built up – so, I say nothing back because it will worsen the situation. You can’t allow someone else’ss anger to become yours. Emotions are powerful and they can translate into powerful words so you have to be careful. Emotions are contagious – a baby smiles at you, you smile back; a person in a bad mood scowls at you, you will probably scowl back. Self-control is an asset. Being calm is power. Have you ever angered someone and they have stayed perfectly calm? And you realise you were probably more scared of them than if they had shouted at you? That’s self-control.

People will respect you more if you can control yourself. Think of it like this: you are a kingdom. Bear with me ok? You’re a kingdom and your soldiers are your emotions. If your soldiers are running riot, fighting each other and even the civilians, not abiding by your rules or laws, it would be chaos. Now imagine a kingdom with good soldiers – those who stay in their place, help the civilians, and abide by the royal family’s rules, all would be in order and you would be feared and respected by other kingdoms across the land. See what I’m getting at? Don’t let your soldiers get out of control.

“He who controls others may be powerful, but he who has mastered himself is mightier still.” – Lao Tzu

Self-control is avoiding things we’ll later regret. It is the ability to subdue our impulses and temptations. Rather than responding immediately, we can plan and evaluate alternative actions. It’s a good skill to have. But don’t get me wrong, I’m not always able to control myself, although I can pretty well. Sometimes you have to react to someone or something because otherwise, they will not get it in their heads. Calmness of mind is the result of a long and patient effort in self-control, and it’s easier than lashing out; it’s easier than being angry. It’s your choice how you react, but self-control will result in better consequences.

In response to Word-High July: 30 Beautiful Filipino Words Day 2 – Timpi

xxx

9 thoughts on “Timpi

  1. Pingback: Word-High July: Round-Up – Little April Shower

  2. How quaintly you express your ideas. No doubt you are a beautiful writer. “Bear with me OK” I loved it when you stated that, sensing the reader’s mind so smartly! I am be pleased to tell that even I wrote a similar thought for “Timpi” 🙂

    Like

  3. Wow! Great post, April. Thanks for sharing us some words of wisdom with regards to self-control. Mankind needs more of this nowadays. And I love how you relate one’s self to a kingdom. I’ll try not to let my soldiers get out of control from now on. ❤ 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

