Solace in The Woods


woman in woods

Sometimes I think people spend a little bit too much time around other people. Alone time is good and sane. Personally, I couldn’t handle being around people 24/7. It would drive me nuts. I would love to live closer to the forest. Trees are always a relief, after people. You can find peace and quiet in the woods – it’s a good place to think and some of the best advice you will ever hear will come from the forest.

“I did not want to think about people. I wanted the trees, the scents and colors, the shifting shadows of the wood, which spoke a language I understood. I wished I could simply disappear in it, live like a bird or a fox through the winter, and leave the things I had glimpsed to resolve themselves without me.” – Patricia A. McKillip, Winter Rose

I like to take walks in the forest. The trees whisper like humans and rustle like living things in the soft wind. It’s like the trees are calling to me with a hundred voices, like the leaves are telling you secrets. Like Patricia says, the trees and the shifting shadows speak a language I understand. It is exhausting being around people talking about their problems and their troubles and complaining about anything and everything. It’s nice just to sit, or wander and be one with nature. You have to do that from time to time; get away from city life and just sit and listen to the wind and all of the creatures of the forest. The woods are not as empty as you think.

Nothing changes in the forest. It is the same as it was thousands of years ago and is full of stories which no-one can contemplate. But if you listen, the trees will tell you. Stories about myths and legends of a hundred different lands and people. We do not own the woods, they own us. I like the feeling of insignificance I get when I wander into the woods. It puts everything in perspective, all your worries and problems because everything is so big in the forest. The trees tower over you like skyscrapers, each tree a habitat for living creatures; each tree playing a part in the natural cycle. When I walk into the green haze, I am mesmerised by the grand size of everything.

In the forest, I like the feeling of being lost and far away. With so many trees, I feel safe, like I am being guarded; the trees, my wardens. We all have unending and unexplored forests on our mind, and every night we get lost in them alone. No-one else allowed in our private forests. We must travel through the woods alone, again and again, with each tree, a thought. We must make sense of what we are thinking, connecting the trees. It’s a calming process. Learn character from trees, values from roots and change from leaves. Time spent among trees is never time wasted.

Advice from a tree:

  • Stand tall and proud
  • Go out on a limb
  • Remember your roots
  • Drink plenty of water
  • Be content with your natural beauty
  • Enjoy the view

xxx

 

3 thoughts on “Solace in The Woods

  1. Pingback: What Does Adventure Mean To Me? – Little April Shower

  2. That’s a brilliant articulation of the deep feeling of connectedness one experiences with trees. I have always found solace in such locales but I could never put my feelings as nicely as you have put here. Avant garde! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

