IBMC #06: The Mass Media Challenge


Click here to be redirected to the IBMC Challenge #06 page.

pink

I’d gone away for a two-week holiday in Thailand. On the second evening, I went out for a wander toward the lake I had heard about. There were a couple of boats on the water, and the men on the boats were fishing. It was such a beautiful view – I always loved watching the sunset; the colours just blew me away every time and I couldn’t help but stare. It made an amazing pink, red, orange and yellow combination of colour. The sky was on fire. Metaphorically. It was quite a warm night, though, so I was happy sitting for a while on the bench just watching.

It was getting dark and I had no phone reception and 3% battery left, in a foreign country. I didn’t even bother learning the language so there was no way I could communicate with a local. Could I remember my way back to civilisation? The hostel? I couldn’t stay out here all alone after dark, my friends would be worried sick. Well, that or they’d probably be too drunk partying to be worried about me.

I remembered how my great grandma used to recite a poem to me when I was a kid. how did it go again? I was always scared of ghosts when I was little, my grandma told me this poem to spook me. In Thailand on my own, this feeling came back. I couldn’t contact anyone with my phone and I daren’t shout for fear of being kidnapped or adultnapped if we’re being technical. If you’re a girl in a foreign country, you need to keep your wits about you because you never know what will happen. I should have been more careful. I stayed still and perfectly quiet. Ssshhhh. I needed to make my way back but I heard voices, loud and rumbling voices. I put my hand over my mouth to cover the sound of my terrified deep breaths until the voices passed.

“In,
search of skin,
color no matter,
brighter or darker,
tell no one,
I will take someone,
Ssssshhhhh!
–  ghost, me!”

six ten

3 thoughts on “IBMC #06: The Mass Media Challenge

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

