Coffee Date


coffee latte

Don’t get your hopes up, I didn’t go on a coffee date. Coffee dates are cursed for me anyway, so I usually go it alone in the coffee shop scene. If you’re new, you should know that I really love coffee. Especially soya gingerbread lattes from Costa. I’m such a regular, they start making my coffee when I walk in the shop. They love me in there. If we were to meet for coffee, what would your chosen drink be? Do you have an absolute favourite coffee or a regular order?

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you that I started my new job in fashion retail today and I loved it. I would tell you that my legs ache from standing up for 4 hours straight, and you’d laugh and say “get used to it”. I would tell you that the people I work with are lovely people and I can’t wait until my next shift to be trained on the till. I would tell you that there are some really nice clothes in the shop, and you’d think I’m biased because I work there, but you’d promise to come and see me working anyway.

If we were having coffee right now… I would ask you how your life is going. Because we never really see much of each other. And I’d keep it to myself that it felt like we were more online friends than actual friends, and it would get me down slightly. But I’d see how happy you were and realise that we get on like a house on fire even though we see each other once in a blue moon, and it’s never awkward. We don’t need to see each other all that often because when we do see each other it’s exactly like where we left off. And I couldn’t be happier. I’d hate to lose you, my friend.

If we were having coffee right now… I’d mock your choice of drink, because who in their right mind buys a double double espresso? Are you ok? I’d see that you’re tired, though, and we’d laugh about it. You do work too much, I’d say. And you’d reply, “I need the money”. Don’t we all? The world revolves around money. We would talk about how much you hate your job and that you should probably leave since they treat you so badly. But I know you won’t leave because it’s a stable job with regular income and you don’t want to be left out in the wilderness. Your landlord depends on your rent and you need a place to live. You’ve always been so independent and I admire you for that. You’d take the coffee shot and then order a regular latte. I didn’t quesion it because I knew you needed it.

If we were having coffee right now… You’d ask me what I’m doing with myself these days, apart from looking for a full-time summer job. I’d tell you that I’ve joined a Jive class in order to meet new people. “I’m not enough?” you’d say in a jokey way. And I’d say I need to get out more because all I usually do is chill at home, and the occasional people message me on Facebook. But that’s not really living the life, is it? It’s boring, and only boring people get bored. I for one, don’t want to be that person. So yes, I joined the Jive class that my dad has been going to for 8 years; I thought I’d give it a go since I could gain a new skill and exercise at the same time. Except, it doesn’t really feel like exercise. Although funnily enough, the day after the first class I couldn’t walk; my legs were literally dead. “It’s fun, you should come!” I’d say and you’d say “I really should, but I’m busy almost every night”. I knew you’d say that because people always make excuses.

If we were having coffee right now… I’d tell you that I have a blog. Except I won’t tell you the name because it’s personal. I’d tell you that I write about everyday relatable things, poetry, psychology, and books. “POETRY?” you’d exclaim, “You. Writing poetry? Well, I never. Let’s hear one then!” I laugh because that’s the thing that stuck in your head, and I’d go bright red because I don’t think I’m that good. So I’d read one because you looked genuinely excited and after I’d read it out loud I’d look at you expectantly and you’d have a big smile on your face. You’d say you loved it. “You’re just saying that.” I’d say. And you’d say “No really. I did love it”. “Really?” “Really.” We’d sit in silence for a while. But it’s a comfortable silence, and we’d sip our coffees, but they were going cold because we’d have chatted for a long time and we were so engulfed in conversation that we’d forgotten about them. I enjoy your company, my friend.

xxx

10 thoughts on “Coffee Date

      1. There’s a linkup of Weekend Coffee Share posts by another blogger. Great way to connect with others 🙂 If you’re interested, there’s a link to the linkup in my weekend coffee share blog post.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh my gosh!!!! I loved this so much, such a creative idea! If I were to give you credit in my next post do you think I could attempt to write one myself? (If not that’s completely fine – I understand) KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK! I look forward to reading what you post next xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chris

    O.O
    Wow
    Great piece, love the way you wrote it, and it kind of feels like you could almost be psychic.
    Luckily cold coffee never bothered me, I forget about my coffee so often that I drink it when it is cold, it really started to grow on me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. littleaprilshower

      Thank you so much! I loved writing this post, I think I should make it a regular thing. Haha I do exactly the same except I chuck it down the sink when it gets cold 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

