Busy Doing Nothing…


relaxing

“We’re busy doing nothing,

Working the whole day through.

Trying to find lots of things

not to do.

We’re busy going nowhere

Isn’t it just a crime?”

– Vaughn Monroe

My life is like this song verse. Regrettably I find myself doing nothing quite a lot, and to be honest it’s a waste of time because it’s time I can’t get back. And I think a lot of people feel this way. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us, and lots of people, me included, make bad decisions with this time. There are 24 hours in the day, you just need to know how to use it properly and effectively.

I do have hobbies, but I don’t do these things nearly as much as I probably should. Like dancing, I Jive on Tuesdays at a Jive club and I would love to learn more often but sadly they’re only on Tuesdays. I also do photography, but at the moment, my camera (Nikon D3300) is sitting on my shelf just waiting to be used but I lack motivation because I don’t think I’m good enough. I’m also currently doing a Spanish course on Rosetta stone to improve my Spanish because I haven’t been learning it since uni. But again, shockingly, I haven’t used it in about 3 weeks. I love Spanish, and I love photography and I need to improve both of these skills.

Time flies, literally. You wake up at 9, or 10, and then suddenly: BOOM, it’s 5 in the evening. Where’s all that time gone? What have you done with that time? You ask yourself, “How did it get so late so soon?” And then another day has passed and you’ve accomplished nothing. It should be a crime, doing nothing. Because if you’re not busy living, you’re busy dying, and I think that’s quite sad. You tell yourself that there’s never enough time in the day, but that’s not true. There is, but you don’t use it properly.

When I don’t write, I’m either researching ideas for something to write or reading quotes associated with a daily prompt. Sometimes it’s good to take breaks from writing, though, to experience new things and recharge. It gives you different perspective and ideas. I don’t spend a lot of time away from writing though because it’s my passion.

“People say nothing’s impossible but I do nothing everyday.” – Winnie the Pooh

If I had more time in the day I would definitely do more things. I’d go and sit out in the sun for a while, or I’d go out for an explore in my hometown and do some photography. I would probably take a Spanish class, or join a Spanish conversation group. I would draw. I love drawing but I only ever do it when I’m feeling particularly artistic. I would start going to trampoline club again. There are so many things that I wish I could keep doing but I can’t physically do them all the time. And I would probably learn to cook since I really can’t do that either, and because I can’t live off fish and chips every night when I choose to move out.

So tell me in the comments, what do you do in your spare time? And do you have enough time to do everything you want to do? Are there things you wish you could do if you had more time?

xxx

6 thoughts on “Busy Doing Nothing…

  1. Pingback: Word-High July: Indak (10th) – Little April Shower

  2. Hi April, I read this post and felt I could have written it myself a few months ago! Ask yourself, do you have too much to do, or are you too scared/lazy/apathetic to start anything? Some of the things that have helped me:

    Pick one good habit you want to start and focus on it by planning a week of small tasks (each one should be linked to the previous day’s task).
    Go back to school (that is, write yourself a realistic weekly timetable for all of your other interests).
    Write two or three blog posts in one session and schedule them (I only post Fridays, but write several together to free up time the following week/s).
    Allow yourself to learn photography by going back to basics and building your skills slowly (I’m doing this with pencil drawing and I’m surprised at how helpful it is).
    Sign up for WordPress Photography 101.
    Read http://skinnyartist.com/living-a-creative-life-that-matters/.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chris

    Wow. I’m glad I read this post. I too feel as if I waste my free time. Sometimes I wish that I didn’t need or want to sleep, just so that I can have extra time to do the things I really want to do, to be more productive.

    I feel like we are almost in the same boat, I have a Nikon D200 that probably won’t even switch on because all the batteries for it are dead, but I have started getting it ready for the blog that I have just started.
    Please start taking pictures again and post them on your blog if you wish, I would really enjoy seeing what photos you come up with and I am sure your other followers would too.

    Funny enough, I also did a few courses on Spanish, mainly because half of my family can speak it, and I would really like to be trilingual. The best course I found that worked for me was learning Spanish with the app Memrise, it is great because you can set your own goals and quickly do them anywhere.

    Good luck in not wasting time anymore.

    Like

    1. littleaprilshower

      I’m so glad you liked this post! Oh my gosh I know what you mean but we need sleep :’) It definitely seems like we’re in the same boat haha! I don’t think that Nikon batteries are that expensive, and a 32 gig SD card (which I have) was about 20 quid from John Lewis 🙂 I will start taking pictures again because I love it so much 😀
      I used to live in Spain when i was 6 to 9 years old and I’ve grown up learning it all my life, i did GCSE and A-Level Spanish :3 I’d love to be fluent at it. Might have to try that out then!
      Thank you, and you too :3

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

