All Booked Up


That’s it. Flights booked for Madrid. 12 days until I start my adventure as an Au Pair. What is an Au Pair you ask? Here, I’ll give you the dictionary definition: “A young foreign person, typically a woman, who helps with housework or childcare in exchange for food, a room, and some pocket money”. Yep, the start of my epic 3-and-a-half month adventure begins on the first of June.

dream travel explore

As a psychology student, I have very long summer holidays. May to late September to be exact. So I figured I needed to get a job, and I thought, what would be better than an extended break somewhere new, foreign and with better weather? Probably nothing. I don’t remember how I heard about Au Pairing so I looked it up. I’d been planning on going abroad this summer anyway and it looked exactly like something I would love to do. Living in a Spanish family’s house would be an excellent way to learn more about the Spanish culture, and I’d pick up the language so much better than I would by using any online Language course. I found an Au Pair website fairly easily and was matched with the family I will be spending this summer with; a family in their 30s with 3 kids. Perfect.

It was them who messaged me first. At first, I was apprehensive but after emailing them a few times and arranging a Skype call I was feeling better. I knew they were a real family and I wouldn’t be travelling not knowing who exactly I had planned to stay with and work for! (Seriously, don’t plan to work for someone abroad if you’ve never actually spoken with them face to face – that is a recipe for disaster). I got along with the family over Skype really well, and they offered me the job in Madrid! Easy as that. They are decorating my room in their house as we speak.

To be honest, I’d hate to work a 9 to 5 job. It’s just not me. When has that ever worked out for anyone? I mean, when it comes to job satisfaction. I realised that if I got an office job, my life would be boring. A 9 to 5 job is the complete opposite of fun. But I guess if you love what you do, keep doing it. If I stayed in England this summer I know I’d regret it so I had to do something about it. Something different and completely crazy. That’s what some of my friends thought anyway. That I was crazy deciding to move to Madrid. But I didn’t care. I’m not going to live a life of mediocrity and following the crowd.

I’m excited but nervous because it’s something I’ve never done before. But the wise Shia Labeouf once said “JUST DO IT”, so I am. I guess I’ve caught the travel bug.

xxx

2 thoughts on “All Booked Up

Don't be shy, leave a reply...

